Southern Cone Common Market (Mercosur/Mercosul)

Nemby Nemuha

Mercado Común do Cono Sur

Mercado Comum de Cone Sul

Established: By treaty signed March 26, 1991, in Asunción, Paraguay, by the presidents of Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay.

Purpose: To establish a regional “common market of the southern cone” through the harmonization of policies in agriculture, industry, finance, transportation, and other sectors; to promote economic development through expanded extraregional trade and the pursuit of foreign investment.

Headquarters: Montevideo, Uruguay.

Principal Organs: Council of the Common Market, Common Market Group, Joint Parliamentary Commission, Secretariat.

Web site: (in Spanish and Portuguese only)

Director of the Secretariat: Agustín Colombo Sierra (Argentina).

Membership (4): Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, Uruguay.

Associate Members (6): Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Venezuela.

Observer (1): Mexico.

Official Languages: Guaraní, Portuguese, Spanish.

Origin and development. The idea of a regional common market was first advanced ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles