South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC)

Established: By charter signed December 8, 1985, in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Purpose: “[T]o promote the welfare of the peoples of South Asia and to improve their quality of life; … to promote and strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia; … to promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields; … and to co-operate with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.”

Headquarters: Kathmandu, Nepal.

Principal Organs: Meeting of Heads of State or Government, Council of Ministers, Standing Committee, Programming Committee, Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Fathimath Dhiyana Saeed (Maldives).

Membership (8): Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka.

Observers (9): Australia, Myanmar, China, European Union, Iran, Japan, Mauritius, South Korea, United States.

Origin and development. Prior to ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles