Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS)

Sodruzhestvo Nezavisimykh Gosudarstv (SNG)

Established: By the Alma-Ata Protocol, signed by 11 of the former constituent states of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics in Alma-Ata (now Almaty), Kazakhstan, on December 21, 1991.

Purpose: To assist in the orderly transfer of governmental functions and treaty obligations of the former Soviet Union to its independent successor states, to promote coordinated policies in disarmament and national security, and to work toward economic unity among members.

Administrative Center: Minsk, Belarus.

Principal Organs: Council of Heads of State, Council of Heads of Government, Ministerial Councils, Interparliamentary Assembly, Joint Chiefs of Staff, Executive Committee, Secretariat.

Web site: (Site has a comprehensive English section.)

Executive Secretary: Sergei Lebedev (Russia).

Membership (11): Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan. In August 2008 Georgia declared ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles