Republic of Zambia

Political Status: Independent republic within the Commonwealth since October 24, 1964; under one-party, presidential-parliamentary system from 1972 to adoption of multiparty constitution on August 29, 1991.

Area: 290,584 sq. mi. (752,614 sq. km.).

Population: 13,933,726 (2012E—UN); 14,309,466 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): LUSAKA (metropolitan area, 1,647,000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Kwacha (official rate October 3, 2011: 5,014.00 kwachas = $1US).

President: Rupiah BANDA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy); popularly elected in a by-election on October 30, 2008, to fill the unexpired five-year term of Levy Patrick MWANAWASA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy), who died on August 19; inaugurated on November 2.

Vice President: George KUNDA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy); appointed by the president on November 14, 2008.

The Country

Landlocked Zambia, the former British protectorate of Northern Rhodesia, is bordered by the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles