United Arab Emirates

al-Imarat al-Arabiyah al-Muttahidah

Political Status: Federation of six former Trucial States (Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Fujaira, Ajman, and Umm al-Qaiwain) established December 2, 1971; the seventh, Ras al-Khaimah, joined in 1972.

Area: 32,278 sq. mi. (83,600 sq. km.).

Population: 4,106,427 (2005C), embracing (2009 estimates) Abu Dhabi (1,628,000), Dubai (1,722,000), Sharjah (1,017,000), Ras al-Khaimah (241,000), Ajman (250,000), Fujaira (152,000), and Umm al-Qaiwain (56,000); 8,111,282 (2012E—UN); 5,314,317 (2012E—US Census). Figures include noncitizens, who in 2008 constituted approximately 80 percent of the population.

Major Urban Center (2005E): ABU DHABI (606,000).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Dirham (official rate October 3, 2011: 3.67 dirhams = $1US).

Supreme Council: Composed of the rulers of the seven emirates (with dates of accession): Sheikh Khalifa ibn Zayed al—NAHYAN (Abu Dhabi, 2004), Sheikh Muhammad ibn Rashid al—MAKTUM (Dubai, 2006), ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles