Constitutional Monarchy of Tuvalu

Fakavae Aliki-Malo i Tuvalu

Political Status: Former British dependency; independent with “special membership” in the Commonwealth since October 1, 1978.

Land Area: 10 sq. mi. (26 sq. km.).

Resident Population: 10,619 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): VAIAKU (Funafuti, 6,200).

Official Language: English (Tuvaluan is widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: Australian Dollar (market rate October 3, 2011: 1.04 dollars = $1US). A Tuvaluan coinage (at par with the Australian) was introduced in 1977 but is circulated largely for numismatic purposes.

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: Iakopa ITALELI; sworn in on April 15, 2009, to succeed Rev. Filoimea TELITO.

Prime Minister: Willy TELAVI; elected by Parliament on December 24, 2010, to succeed Maatia TOAFA following a vote of no confidence on December 21, 2010.

The Country

Formerly known as the Ellice Islands in the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles