Timor-Leste (East Timor)

Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste

República Democrática de Timor-Leste

Political Status: Independent republic established May 20, 2002; constitution approved by Constituent Assembly on March 22, 2002.

Area: 5,641 sq. mi. (14,609 sq. km.).

Population: 1,190,417 (2012E—UN); 1,201,255 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center: Dili 173,541 (2004C).

Official Languages: Portuguese, Tetum. A majority of Timorese are fluent in Bahasa Indonesia (a form of Malay); both it and English are “working languages.”

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see U.S. entry for principal exchange rates).

President: José RAMOS—HORTA (nonparty); elected by popular vote on May 9, 2007; sworn in for a five-year term on May 20, succeeding Kay Rala Xanana (José Alexandre) GUSMÃO (National Congress for the Reconstruction of East Timor).

Prime Minister: Kay Rala Xanana (José Alexandre) GUSMÃO (National Congress of East Timorese Reconstruction); appointed by the president on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles