Kingdom of Sweden

Konungariket Sverige

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established on June 6, 1809; under revised constitution effective January 1, 1975.

Area: 173,731 sq. mi. (449,964 sq. km.).

Population: 9,991,222 (2012E—UN); 9,103,788 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2007C): STOCKHOLM (788,000), GÖteborg (490,000), Malmö (278,000), Uppsala (185,000).

Official Language: Swedish.

Monetary Unit: Krona (official rate October 3, 2011: 6.87 kronor = $1US).

Sovereign: King CARL XVI GUSTAF; succeeded to the throne September 19, 1973, following the death of his grandfather, King GUSTAF VI ADOLF.

Heir Apparent: Crown Princess VICTORIA Ingrid Alice Désirée, daughter of the king.

Prime Minister: Fredrik REINFELDT (Moderate Coalition Party); elected by the Riksdag on October 5, 2006, to succeed GÖran PERSSON (Swedish Social Democratic Party) following the legislative elections of September 17; formed new government on October 6, 2006; formed new minority ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles