Republic of Seychelles

Repiblik Sesel

République des Seychelles

Political Status: Independent member of the Commonwealth since June 29, 1976; present constitution approved by referendum of June 18, 1993.

Area: 171 sq. mi. (429 sq. km.).

Resident Population: 90,024 (2012E—U.S. Census); some 30,000 Seychellois live abroad, mainly in Australia and the United Kingdom.

Major Urban Center (2005E): VICTORIA (25,100).

National Languages: Creole, English, French.

Monetary Unit: Seychelles Rupee (official rate October 3, 2011: 12.45 rupees = $1US).

President: James Alix MICHEL (Seychelles People's Progressive Front); elevated (from vice president) to the presidency on April 14, 2004, following the retirement of France Albert RENÉ (Seychelles People's Progressive Front); directly elected in balloting of July 28–30, 2006, and sworn in for a five-year term on August 1; formed new government on July 1, 2010; reelected in multiparty ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles