Independent State of Samoa

Sa ’oloto Tuto ’atasi o Samoa

Note: There is considerable confusion regarding Samoan proper names, the initial component being generally accorded benchmark status and, with some exceptions, utilized herein as such.

Political Status: Gained independence (as Western Samoa) on January 1, 1962; member of the Commonwealth since 1970; current name adopted in 1977; under mixed political system approximating a constitutional monarchy.

Area: 1,097 sq. mi. (2,842 sq. km.).

Population: 186,679 (2012E—UN); 194,320 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): APIA (40,700).

Official Languages: English, Samoan.

Monetary Unit: Tala (official rate October 3, 2011: 2.28 tala = $1US).

Head of State: Tui Atua TUPUA Tamasese Taisi Tupuola Tufuga Efi; elected by the Legislative Assembly and installed on June 20, 2007, succeeding Susuga MALIETOA Tanumafili II, who had died on May 12.

Prime Minister: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles