Portuguese Republic

República Portuguesa

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed on October 5, 1910; corporative constitution of March 19, 1933, suspended following military coup of April 25, 1974; present constitution promulgated on April 2, 1976, with effect from April 25.

Area: 35,553 sq. mi. (92,082 sq. km.).

Population: 11,220,966 (2012E—UN); 10,781,459 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): LISBON (520,000), Porto (Oporto, 248,000).

Official Language: Portuguese.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 3, 2011: 1 euro = $1.33US).

President: Aníbal CAVACO SILVA (Social Democratic Party); popularly elected on January 22, 2006, and sworn in for a five-year term on March 9, succeeding Jorge SAMPAIO (Socialist Party); reelected on January 23, 2011.

Prime Minister: Pedro Passos COELHO (Social Democratic Party); designated by the president following legislative elections on June 5, 2011, and sworn in along with a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles