Republic of Nicaragua

República de Nicaragua

Note: On November 6, 2011, Nicaragua held its general election. President Daniel Ortega (Sandinista National Liberation Front) was reelected to a third term by defeating Fabio Gadea (Independent Liberal Party) and Arnoldo Alemán (Constitutionalist Liberal Party). President Ortega was inaugurated on January 10, 2012, and appointed a new cabinet the next day. In parliament, the FSLN increased its existing majority, capturing a commanding 63 seats. The PLI won 27 seats, while the PLC garnered only 2. The new parliament began its term on January 10, 2012.

Political Status: Independence originally proclaimed 1821; separate republic established 1838; provisional junta installed July 19, 1979; present constitution adopted November 19, 1986, in effect from January 9, 1987.

Area: 50,193 sq. mi. (130,000 sq. km.).

Population: 6,014,547 (2012E—UN); ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles