New Zealand


Political Status: Constitutional democracy with Queen Elizabeth II as titular head of state; formally independent since 1947.

Area: 104,454 sq. mi. (270,534 sq. km.).

Population: 4,619,036 (2012E—UN); 4,327,944 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2006C): WELLINGTON (179,466), Auckland (404,658; conurbation 1,414,700), Christchurch (348,435), Manukau City (328,968), Hamilton (129,249), Dunedin (118,683). Following the 2011 earthquake, the population of Christchurch declined significantly.

Official Languages: English, Maori.

Monetary Unit: New Zealand Dollar (market rate October 3, 2011: 1.31 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: General Sir Jerry MATAPARAI, named by Queen Elizabeth II on March 7, 2011, to succeed Sir Anand SATYANAND, effective August 31.

Prime Minister: John Phillip KEY (National Party), named by the governor general to form a new government following the parliamentary election of, November 8, 2008, and sworn in on ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles