Federated States of Micronesia

Political Status: Sovereign state in free association with the United States (which retains authority with regard to defense) since October 21, 1986.

Land Area: 271 sq. mi. (701 sq. km.).

Population: 112,801 (2012E—UN); 106,487 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): PALIKIR (Pohnpei, 6,600), Weno (Chuuk, 12,300), Kitti (Pohnpei, 6,800), Nett (Pohnpei, 6,300), Kolonia (Pohnpei, 5,000).

Official Language: English. The principal native languages are Kosrean, Pohnpeian, Trukese, and Yapese.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see the entry on United States [and Related Territories] for principal exchange rates).

President: Emanuel (Manny) MORI; elected by the Congress on May 11, 2007, and sworn in on the same day for a four-year term, succeeding Joseph J. URUSEMAL; reelected for a second four-year term on May 11, 2011, following the legislative elections on March 8.

Vice President: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles