Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

Grousherzogdem Lëzebuerg (Letzeburgish)

Grand-Duché de Luxembourg (French)

Grossherzogtum Luxemburg (German)

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy, fully independent since 1867; in economic union with Belgium since 1922.

Area: 998 sq. mi. (2,586 sq. km.).

Population: 543,429 (2012E—UN); 509,074 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): LUXEMBOURG—VILLE (Lützelburg, 77,000), Esch-sur-Alzette (28,000).

Official Language: Letzeburgish. As a general rule, French is used for administrative purposes, and German for commerce.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate October 3, 2011: 1 euro = $1.33US).

Sovereign: Grand Duke HENRI; ascended to the throne October 7, 2000, on the abdication of his father, Grand Duke JEAN.

Heir Apparent: Prince GUILLAUME, son of the grand duke; proclaimed by the grand duke on December 18, 2000.

President of the Government (Prime Minister): Jean-Claude JUNCKER (Christian Social People's Party); sworn in as the head of a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles