Republic of Libya

al-Jumhuriyyah al-Libiyah

Political Status: Independent state since December 24, 1951; revolutionary republic declared September 1, 1969; name changed from Libyan Arab Republic to Libyan Arab People's Republic in 1976; present name adopted March 2, 1977; interim draft constitution promulgated on August 3, 2011.

Area: 679,358 sq. mi. (1,759,540 sq. km.).

Population: 6,512,765 (2012E—UN); 6,733,620 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2003C): Tripoli (Tarabulus, 1,197,000), Benghazi (Banghazi, 680,000), Misurata (Misratah, 351,000), Sirte (Surt, 162,000). (Many secretariats have reportedly been relocated recently to Sirte-about 400 miles east of Tripoli-and other cities.)

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Dinar (official rate October 3, 2010: 1.24 dinar = $1US).

Chair of the National Transitional Council (De Facto Head of State): Mustafa Abdel JALIL; appointed on March 5, 2011, as rival and then successor to Revolutionary Leader ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles