Republic of Lebanon

al-Jumhuriyah al-Lubnaniyah

Political Status: Independent parliamentary republic proclaimed November 26, 1941, with acquisition of de facto autonomy completed upon withdrawal of French troops in December 1946.

Area: 4,036 sq. mi. (10,452 sq. km.).

Population: 4,344,595 (2012E—UN); 4,140,289 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): BEIRUT (1,300,000), Tarabulus (Tripoli, 215,000), Saida (Sidon, 151,000), Tyre (120,000).

Official Language: Arabic (French is widely used).

Monetary Unit: Lebanese Pound (market rate October 3, 2011: 1,505.50 pounds = $1US).

President: Gen. Michel SULEIMAN (Maronite Christian, ind.); elected and inaugurated for a six-year term by the National Assembly on May 25, 2008, to succeed Gen. Emile LAHOUD.

Prime Minister: Mohammad Najib MIKATI (ind.); designated by the president to form a government following the January 12, 2011, collapse of the unity government led by Saad Hariri and sworn ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles