Republic of Kiribati

I Kiribati

Note: Parliamentary elections were held in October 2011. After three rounds of elections, the Supporters of the Truth (Boutokaan te Koaua—BTK) maintained its position as the majority party, capturing 15 seats as compared to the United Coalition Party (Karikirckean Tei-Kiribati—KTK) with 11 seats and the Maurin Kiribati Party (MKP) with 3 seats. Seventeen seats were won by independents. Upon election, the three parties nominated the following presidential candidates: current president Anote Tong (BTK), Tetaua Taitai (KTK), and Rimeta Beniamina (MKP). On January 13, 2012, Tong was elected to a third term as president. Tong defeated his nearest opponent by 2,000 votes.

Political Status: Formerly the Gilbert Islands; became a British protectorate in 1892; annexed as the Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony in 1915, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles