Hungarian Republic

Magyar KÖztársaság

Political Status: Independent kingdom created in 1000; republic proclaimed in 1946; Communist People's Republic established August 20, 1949; pre-Communist name revived as one of a number of constitutional changes approved on October 18, 1989.

Area: 35,919 sq. mi. (93,030 sq. km.).

Population: 10,355,110 (2012E—UN); 9,958,453 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): BUDAPEST (1,700,000), Debrecen (209,000), Miskolc (189,000), Pécs (169,000), Szeged (162,000), Györ (131,000).

Official Language: Hungarian.

Monetary Unit: Forint (official rate October 3, 2011: 223.17 forints = $1US).

President: Pál SCHMITT; elected (as the candidate of the coalition of the Federation of Young Democrats-Hungarian Civic Alliance and the Christian Democratic People's Party) in first-round balloting by the National Assembly on June 29, 2010, and sworn in for a five-year term on August 6, succeeding László SÓLYOM (nonparty).

Prime Minister: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles