Republic of Honduras

República de Honduras

Political Status: Part of the independent Captaincy General of Guatemala, 1821; member of United Provinces of Central America, 1824–1838; separate republic established 1839; present constitution promulgated January 20, 1982, following a decade of military rule.

Area: 43,277 sq. mi. (112,088 sq. km.).

Population: 7,984, 288 (2012E—UN); 8, 296,693 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TEGUCIGALPA (857,000), San Pedro Sula (510,000).

Official Language: Spanish.

Monetary Unit: Lempira (market rate October 3, 2011: 18.9 lempiras = $1US).

President: Porfirio LOBO Sosa (National Party); elected on November 29, 2009, and inaugurated on January 27, 2010, for a four-year term, succeeding Roberto MICHELETTI Baín (Liberal Party), who was appointed by the congress on June 28, 2009, for a six-month term following a bloodless coup the same day that ousted José ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles