Republic of Guinea

République de Guinée

Political Status: Independent republic since October 2, 1958; under one-party presidential regime until military coup of April 3, 1984; multiparty constitution approved by referendum of December 23, 1990, providing for five-year transition to civilian government; constitution suspended following military coup of December 23, 2008; constitutional order restored following Supreme Court ratification of presidential election results in December 2010.

Area: 94,925 sq. mi. (245,857 sq. km.).

Population: 10,522,509 (2012E—UN); 10,884,958 (2012E—U.S. Census). Major Urban Center (2005E): CONAKRY (1,478,000).

Official Language: French, pending adoption of Soussou or Malinké. (Six other tribal languages are also spoken.)

Monetary Unit: Guinea Franc (market rate October 3, 2011: 6902.50 francs = $1US).

President: Alpha CONDÉ (Rally of the Guinean People), elected after multiparty balloting on June 27 and November 7, 2010, and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles