Republic of Estonia

Eesti Vabariik

Political Status: Absorption of independent state by the Soviet Union on August 6, 1940, repudiated by Estonian Supreme Council on March 30, 1990; resumption of full sovereignty declared August 20, 1991, and accepted by USSR State Council on September 6; present constitution approved in referendum of June 28, 1992.

Area: 17,462 sq. mi. (45,227 sq. km.).

Population: 1,400,417 (2012E—UN); 1,274,709 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): TALLINN (395,000), Tartu (101,000), Narva (68,000).

Official Language: Estonian.

Monetary Unit: Estonia adopted the euro on January 1, 2011. Euro (market rate October 3, 2011: 1 euro = $1.33US).

President: Toomas Hendrik ILVES (Social Democratic Party); elected by parliament for a second five-year term on August 29, 2011; elected by electoral college on September 23, 2006, and sworn in for a five-year ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles