Commonwealth of Dominica

Political Status: Former British dependency; joined West Indies Associated States in 1967; independent member of the Commonwealth since November 3, 1978.

Area: 290.5 sq. mi. (752.4 sq. km.).

Population: 73,126 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): ROSEAU (14,000).

Official Language: English (a French patois is widely spoken).

Monetary Unit: East Caribbean Dollar (official rate October 3, 2011: 2.70 = $1US).

President: Nicholas LIVERPOOL; elected by the House of Assembly on October 2, 2003, and inaugurated for a five-year term on October 6, succeeding Vernon SHAW; inaugurated for a second five-year term on October 2, 2008.

Prime Minister: Roosevelt SKERRIT (Dominica Labour Party); sworn in January 8, 2004, succeeding Pierre CHARLES (Dominica Labour Party), who died on January 6; remained in office following elections of May 5, 2005, and December 18, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles