Kingdom of Denmark

Kongeriget Danmark

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy since 1849; under unicameral parliamentary system established in 1953.

Area: 16,629 sq. mi. (43,069 sq. km.).

Population: 5,823,088 (2012E—UN); 5,543,453 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): COPENHAGEN (502,000; metropolitan area, 2,050,000).

Official Language: Danish.

Monetary Unit: Krone (market rate October 3, 2011: 5.61 kroner = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen MARGRETHE II; proclaimed queen on January 15, 1972, following the death of her father, King FREDERIK IX, on January 14.

Heir to the Throne: Crown Prince FREDERIK, elder son of the queen.

Prime Minister: Helle THORNING—SCHMIDT (Social Democratic Party); appointed by the Queen on October 3, 2011, to succeed Lars Løkke RASMUSSEN (Liberal Party) following the general election of September 15; formed a coalition government on October 3.

The Country

Encompassing a low-lying peninsula and adjacent islands strategically situated at ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles