Political Status: Granted Dominion status under the British North America Act of 1867; recognized as autonomous state within the Commonwealth in 1931; constitution “patriated” as of April 17, 1982.

Area: 3,855,081 sq. mi. (9,984,670 sq. km.), including inland water.

Population: 36,078,154 (2012E—UN); 34,300,083 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Centers (urban areas, 2006C): OTTAWA (1,130,761), Toronto (5,113,149), Montreal (3,635,571), Vancouver (2,116,581), Calgary (1,079,310), Edmonton (1,034,945), Quebec (715,515), Winnipeg (694,668), Hamilton (692,911).

Official Languages: English, French.

Monetary Unit: Canadian Dollar (market rate October 3, 2011: 1.05 dollars = $1US).

Sovereign: Queen ELIZABETH II.

Governor General: David JOHNSTON; appointed by Queen Elizabeth II on the advice of the prime minister and installed for a traditional five-year term on October 1, 2010, succeeding Michaëlle JEAN, who assumed a UNESCO post at the conclusion of her term.

Prime Minister: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles