State of Brunei Darussalam

Negara Brunei Darussalam

Political Status: Formerly a constitutional monarchy in treaty relationship with the United Kingdom; independent sultanate proclaimed January 1, 1984.

Area: 2,226 sq. mi. (5,765 sq. km.).

Population: 416,125 (2012E—UN); 408,786 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005E): BANDAR SERI BEGAWAN (30,000).

Official Language: Malay (English is widely used).

Monetary Unit: Brunei Dollar (market rate October 3, 2011: 1.31

dollars = $1US). The Brunei dollar is at par with the Singapore dollar.

Head of State and Prime Minister: Sultan Sir Haji HASSANAL BOLKIAH Muizzaddin Waddaulah; ascended the throne October 5, 1967, upon the abdication of his father, Sultan Sir Haji Omar ALI SAIFUDDIN; crowned August 1, 1968; assumed office of prime minister at independence, succeeding former chief minister ABDUL AZIZ bin Umar.

Heir Apparent: Crown Prince Haji al-Muhtadee BILLAH, eldest ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles