Kingdom of Bhutan


Political Status: Independent parliamentary monarchy; first formal constitution adopted June 2, 2008.

Area: 18,147 sq. mi. (47,000 sq. km.).

Population: 755,919 (2012E—UN); 716,896 (2012E—U.S. Census).

Major Urban Center (2005C): THIMPHU (98,676, district).

Official Language: Dzongkha.

Monetary Unit: Ngultrum (official rate October 3, 2011: 45.16 ngultrum = $1US). The ngultrum is at par with the Indian rupee, which circulates freely within the country.

Monarch: Dasho Jigme Khesar Namgyel WANGCHUK; proclaimed king (Druk Gyalpo) on December 14, 2006, upon the voluntary abdication of his father, Jigme Singye WANGCHUK; crowned as constitutional monarch on November 6, 2008.

Prime Minister: Jigme Yoser THINLEY (Bhutan Peace and Prosperity Party); nominated by his party on April 5, 2008, following the National Assembly election of March 24; received royal imprimatur and assumed office on April 9 ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles