• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Belarus
Respublika Belarus

Note: President Alyaksandr Lukashenka won reelection on December 19, 2010, capturing 79.6 percent of the vote, according to the official count, against nine challengers. His closest competitor, Andrei Sannikov, won 2.4 percent of the vote. On election day and immediately afterward police and security personnel arrested an estimated 600 protesters, who condemned the vote count as corrupt. At least seven of Lukashenka’s challengers were detained, and many of the protesters and several of the candidates were beaten. Western observers, including monitors from the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, widely condemned the election developments. Lukashenka, responding to the protests, announced, “There will be no more mindless democracy in this country.”

Political Status: Formerly the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic, a constituent republic of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles