• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Kingdom of Bahrain
al-Mamlakah al-Bahrayn

Political Status: Independent emirate proclaimed August 15, 1971; constitution adopted December 6, 1973; constitutional monarchy established on February 14, 2002, under constitutional amendment decreed by the emir in purported accordance with National Action Charter endorsed by national referendum on February 14–15, 2001.

Area: 258 sq. mi. (668 sq. km.).

Population: 650, 604 (2001C); 1, 317, 000 (2010E). Both figures include non-nationals (approximately 527, 000 in 2007).

Major Urban Centers (2005E): MANAMA (152, 000); Muharraq (119, 000).

Official Language: Arabic.

Monetary Unit: Dinar (official rate November 1, 2010: 1 dinar = $2.70US).

Sovereign: King Sheikh Hamad ibn Isa Al KHALIFA, descendant of a ruling dynasty that dates from 1782; succeeded to the throne as emir on March 6, 1999, upon the death of his father, Sheikh Isa ibn Salman ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles