• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Zambia

Political Status: Independent republic within the Commonwealth since October 24, 1964; under one-party, presidential-parliamentary system from 1972 to adoption of multiparty constitution on August 29, 1991.

Area: 290, 584 sq. mi. (752, 614 sq. km.).

Population: 9, 885, 591 (2000C); 12, 258, 000 (2010E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): LUSAKA (metropolitan area, 1, 647, 000).

Official Language: English.

Monetary Unit: Kwacha (official rate November 1, 2010: 4, 665.00 kwachas = $1US).

President: Rupiah BANDA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy); popularly elected in a by-election on October 30, 2008, to fill the unexpired five-year term of Levy Patrick MWANAWASA (Movement for Multiparty Democracy), who died on August 19; inaugurated on November 2.

Vice President: George KUNDA ((Movement for Multiparty Demo­cracy); appointed by the president on November 14, 2008.

The Country

Landlocked Zambia, the former British ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles