• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Independent State of Samoa
Sa ’oloto Tuto ’atasi o Samoa

Note: Elections for the 15th term of the Parliament of Samoa were held on March 4, 2011. The Legislative Assembly, referred to in Samoa as the Fono, consists of 49 seats. Every seat was up for reelection. The official results were released on March 14, with the Human Rights Protection Party (HRPP) gaining 28 seats, the Tautua Samoa Party gaining 13, and the Independent Party gaining 8. Only two seats were acquired by women. In total, about 68,000 Samoans voted.

Note: There is considerable confusion regarding Samoan proper names, the initial component being generally accorded benchmark status and, with some exceptions, utilized herein as such.

Political Status: Independent state since January 1, 1962; member of the Commonwealth since 1970; ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles