• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Peru
República del Perú

Note: On April 10, 2011, Ollanta HUMALA Tasso (Peru Nationalist Party, Partido Nacionalista Peruano—PNP) won the first round of Peru’s presidential election but did not win a majority, prompting a second round to be held on June 5, 2011, which will elect the president as well as 130 members of the Peruvian Congress and 5 members of the Andean Parliament.

Note: President of the council of ministers Ángel Javier Velásquez Quesquén resigned on September 13, 2010. The minister of education José Antonio Chang Escobedo was named the new president of a reshuffled council on September 14.

Political Status: Independent republic proclaimed 1821; military rule imposed on October 3, 1968; constitutional government restored on July 28, 1980; national emergency declared in wake of army-backed ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles