• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Kingdom of the Netherlands
Koninkrijk der Nederlanden

Political Status: Constitutional monarchy established 1814; under multiparty parliamentary system.

Area: 13, 103 sq. mi. (33, 936 sq. km.).

Population: 15, 987, 075 (2001C); 16, 671, 000 (2010E). Since 1971 population records have been maintained by means of a continuous accounting system rather than by total enumerations, the 2001 figure being derived from a January compilation of system components.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): AMSTERDAM (739, 000), Rotterdam (596, 000), The Hague (seat of government, 468, 000), Utrecht (276, 000), Eindhoven (209, 000).

Official Language: Dutch.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate November 1, 2010: 1 euro = $1.38US).

Sovereign: Queen BEATRIX Wilhelmina Armgard; ascended the throne April 30, 1980, upon the abdication of her mother, Queen JULIANA Louise Emma Marie Wilhelmina.

Heir Apparent: WILLEM-ALEXANDER, Prince of Orange.

Prime Minister: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles