• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Moldova
Republica Moldova

Note: In balloting for the 101-member Parliament on November 28, 2010, the Party of Communists of the Republic of Moldova (PCRM) won 42 seats; the Liberal Democratic Party of Moldova (PLDM), 32; the Democratic Party of Moldova (PDM), 15; and the Liberal Party (PL), 12. Therefore, neither the PCRM nor the governing Alliance for European Integration (APIE [the PLDM, PDM, and PL]) controlled enough seats to elect a president, and the stalemate of recent years continued. Subsequently, the APIE elected Marian Lupu of the PDM as the new speaker of Parliament and thereby acting president of the republic. Lupu took office on December 20 and the following day nominated Prime Minister Vladimir Filat of the PLDM to form a new APIE coalition ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles