• Country
  • Countries A-Z

Marshall Islands

Republic of the Marshall Islands

Political Status: Sovereign state in free association with the United States (which retains authority with regard to defense) since October 21, 1986.

Area: 70 sq. mi. (181 sq. km.).

Population: 50, 848 (1999C); 54, 000 (2010E).

Major Urban Center (2005E): DALAP-ULIGA-DARRIT (Majuro Atoll; 26, 000).

Official Languages: English, Marshallese.

Monetary Unit: U.S. Dollar (see U.S. article for principal exchange rates).

President: Jurelang ZEDKAIA (Our Islands); elected by the House of Representatives on October 26, 2009, and inaugurated on November 2 to succeed Ruben ZACKHRAS (Our Islands), who had been named acting president following the defeat of Litokwa TOMEING (Our Islands) in a nonconfidence vote on October 21.

The Country

The Marshalls consist of a double chain of coral atolls, encompassing 33 islands and more than 850 reefs, within the ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles