• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Kyrgyz Republic
Kyrgyz Respublikasy (Kyrgyz)
Respublika Kirgizstan (Russian)

Political Status: Designated autonomous republic of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic on February 1, 1926; became constituent republic of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) on December 5, 1936; Republic of Kyrgyzstan proclaimed December 13, 1990; independence from the USSR declared by the Kyrgyz Supreme Soviet August 31, 1991; current constitution approved by referendum on June 27, 2010.

Area: 76, 640 sq. mi. (198, 500 sq. km.).

Population: 5, 394, 000 (2010E), including approximately 255, 100 considered temporarily abroad.

Major Urban Center (2009C): BISHKEK (formerly Frunze, 835, 300), Osh (258, 100).

Official Languages: Kyrgyz, Russian. Kyrgyz is the “state language.”

Monetary Unit: Som (official rate November 1, 2010: 46.74 soms = $1US).

Interim President: Roza OTUNBAYEVA (Social Democratic Party of Kyrgyzstan); assumed leadership of ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles