• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Iceland
Lyðveldið Ísland

Political Status: Independent republic established June 17, 1944; under democratic parliamentary system.

Area: 39, 768 sq. mi. (103, 000 sq. km.).

Population: 319, 368 (2009C); 329, 000 (2010E). The census is January, the estimate midyear.

Major Urban Center (2005E): REYKJAVÍK (114, 000).

Official Language: Icelandic.

Monetary Unit: Króna (official rate November 1, 2010: 111.70 krónur = $1US).

President: Dr. Ólafur Ragnar GRÍMSSON (previously People’s Alliance); elected on June 29, 1996, and inaugurated on August 1 for a four-year term, succeeding Vigdís FINNBOGADÓTTIR (nonparty); term extended for an additional four years when no potential opponent met the May 19, 2000, deadline for filing the required number of nominating signatures; reelected on June 26, 2004; and term extended for another four years when no opponent met the May 24, 2008, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles