• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Republic of Estonia
Eesti Vabariik

Note: In balloting held on March 6, 2011, 101 members of the parliament (Riigikogu) were elected in Estonia’s first election as a eurozone member. The Reform Party (RE) led by Prime Minister Andrus ANSIP increased its parliamentary majority by winning 33 seats while the Pro Patria and Res Publica Union (IRL) won 23. Together with 56 seats in the parliament, the RE and IRL formed a new government and signed a coalition treaty.

Political Status: Absorption of independent state by the Soviet Union on August 6, 1940, repudiated by Estonian Supreme Council on March 30, 1990; resumption of full sovereignty declared August 20, 1991, and accepted by USSR State Council on September 6; present constitution approved in referendum of June 28, 1992.

Area: 17, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles