• Country
  • Countries A-Z

CÔTe D’Ivoire

République de Côte d’Ivoire

Note: Incumbent president Laurent Gbagbo and opposition candidate Alassane Ouattara each claimed victory in the second round of presidential balloting on November 28, 2010, and named competing prime ministers and cabinets. Most of the international community (including the United Nations, United States, European Union, African Union, and Economic Community of West African States) recognized Ouattara as the legitimate victor, but Gbagbo, supported by the army, remained in de facto control into January 2011.

Political Status: Independent since August 7, 1960; present constitution adopted October 31, 1960; under de facto one-party regime prior to legalization of opposition parties on May 30, 1990; constitution suspended and governmental authority assumed by the military following a bloodless coup on December 24, 1999; new constitution providing for a ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles