• Country
  • Countries A-Z


Note: On Monday, May 2, 2011, the CPC (Conservative Party of Canada) won its first majority government with 167 seats and retained Stephen HARPER as Prime Minister. The NDP (New Democratic Party) garnered 102 seats, becoming the opposition party for the first time. The former opposition party, the Liberal Party of Canada, won 34 seats, prompting its leader Michael IGNATIEFF to resign. Other parties winning seats included the BQ (Quebec Bloc) with 4 seats and the Green Party of Canada with 1 seat. A record number of women (76) were elected to the Parliament.

Political Status: Granted Dominion status under the British North America Act of 1867; recognized as autonomous state within the Commonwealth in 1931; constitution “patriated” as of April 17, 1982.

Area: 3, 855, 081 ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles