Republic of Austria

Republik Österreich

Political Status: Federal republic established in 1918; reestablished in 1945 under Allied occupation; independence restored under Four-Power Treaty of July 27, 1955.

Area: 32,376 sq. mi. (83,853 sq. km.).

Population: 8,032,926 (2001C); 8,379,000 (2008E). The 2001 figure includes foreign workers.

Major Urban Centers (2005E): VIENNA (1,554,000), Graz (222,000), Linz (178,000), Salzburg (142,000), Innsbruck (112,000).

Official Language: German.

Monetary Unit: Euro (market rate December 1, 2009: 1 euro = $1.51US).

Federal President: Heinz FISCHER (Austrian Social Democratic Party); elected on April 25, 2004, and sworn in for a six-year term on July 9 to succeed Thomas KLESTIL (nonparty), who had been constitutionally precluded from running for a third term and who had died on July 6.

Federal Chancellor: Werner FAYMANN (Austrian Social Democratic Party); invited by the president on October ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles