Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA)

Cour Permanente d’Arbitrage

Established: By the First Hague Peace Conference, held in 1899 in The Hague, Netherlands. The Convention for the Pacific Settlement of International Disputes was signed July 29, 1899, and entered into force September 4, 1900. The convention was revised October 18, 1907, by the Second Hague Peace Conference and entered into force January 26, 1910.

Purpose: To facilitate international dispute resolution through arbitration, conciliation, and fact-finding and through assistance to other arbitration procedures.

Headquarters: The Hague, Netherlands.

Principal Organs: Administrative Council, International Bureau.

Web site:

Secretary General: Christiaan Kröner (Netherlands).

Membership (108): Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles