Communauté du Pacifique

Established: As the South Pacific Commission by agreement signed February 6, 1947, in Canberra, Australia, effective July 29, 1948; structure modified by amending agreements signed on October 6, 1964, in London, United Kingdom, and in Nouméa, New Caledonia, on October 12, 1978; current name adopted effective February 8, 1998.

Purpose: “[T]o provide a common forum within which the Island peoples and their governments can express themselves on issues, problems, needs and ideas common to the region; … to assist in meeting the basic needs of the peoples of the region; … to serve as a catalyst for the development of regional resources …; to act as a center for collection and dissemination of information on the needs of the region.”

Headquarters: Nouméa, New Caledonia.

Principal Organs: ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles