Formal Name: Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf.

Established: Initial agreement endorsed February 4–5, 1981, in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia; constitution formally adopted May 25–26, 1981, in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Purpose: “(i) To achieve coordination, integration, and cooperation among the member states in all fields in order to bring about their unity; (ii) to deepen and strengthen the bonds of cooperation existing among their peoples in all fields; (iii) to draw up similar systems in all fields … and (iv) to promote scientific and technical progress in the fields of industry, minerals, agriculture, sea wealth, and animal wealth … for the good of the peoples of the member states.”

Headquarters: Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

Principal Organs: Supreme Council; Ministerial Council; General Secretariat; various economic, social, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles