Established: As the group of contributing countries to the General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB), negotiated in 1962 in Paris, France, by the Executive Board of the International Monetary Fund.

Purpose: To discuss problems relating to the function and structure of the international monetary system.

Principal Organs: None; communication within the group occurs at regular and ad hoc meetings of ministers, ministerial deputies, and governors or other representatives of the members’ central banks.

Web site: (This is a very minimal collection of links to other institutions where related documents may be found. The collection on the OECD Web site is the most complete.)

Membership (11): Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States.

Nonstate Participants (4): International Monetary Fund (IMF), Organization for Economic Cooperation and ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles