Established: On a de facto basis by agreement signed at a meeting of the European Space Conference July 31, 1973, in Brussels, Belgium, effective May 1, 1975; de jure establishment achieved after ratification of the ESA Convention on October 30, 1980.

Purpose: To provide for and promote, for exclusively peaceful purposes, cooperation among European states in space research and technology, with a view to their being used for scientific purposes and for operational space applications; to elaborate and implement a long-term European space policy; and progressively to “Europeanize” national space programs.

Headquarters: Paris, France.

Principal Organs: Council (all members), Directorates.

Web site:

Director General: Jean-Jacques Dordain (France).

Membership (18): Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.

Cooperating States ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles