European Organization for the Safety of Air Navigation (EUROCONTROL)

Established: By convention signed on December 13, 1960, in Brussels, Belgium, effective March 1, 1963; amended by protocol signed February 12, 1981, effective January 1, 1986. (Convention revisions signed on June 27, 1997, are still undergoing ratification.)

Purpose: To harmonize and integrate air navigation services in Europe, aiming to create a uniform air traffic management system for civil and military users in order to achieve safe, orderly, expeditious, and economic flow of traffic while minimizing adverse environmental impact.

Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium.

Principal Organs: Commission, Provisional Council, Agency.

Web site:

Director General: David McMillan (UK).

Membership (38): Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles