Economic Community of Central African States (CEEAC)

Communauté Economique des Etats de l’Afrique Centrale

Established: By treaty signed by the heads of state of the member countries on October 18, 1983, in Libreville, Gabon.

Purpose: Initially, to end customs duties and other restrictions on trade between the member countries and establish a common market; more recently, to also promote regional integration, security, and stability.

Headquarters: Libreville, Gabon.

Principal Organs: Conference of Heads of State and Government, Council of Ministers, Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Louis-Sylvain Goma (Republic of the Congo).

Membership (10): Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome and Principe. (Rwanda, a founding member, left the organization in June 2007.)

Official Languages: French, Portuguese.

Origin and development. In 1977 President Mobutu Sese Seko of Zaire ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles