Established: By Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community, which was signed November 30, 1999, in Arusha, Tanzania, and entered into force July 7, 2000; community formally launched January 15, 2001.

Purpose: To coordinate trade, monetary, defense, and sectoral policies with a view toward establishment of a customs union, a common market, a monetary union, and, eventually, a political federation of the partner states.

Headquarters: Arusha, Tanzania.

Principal Organs: Summit, Council of Ministers, Coordination Committee, Sectoral Councils, Sectoral Committees, East African Court of Justice, East African Legislative Assembly, Secretariat.

Web site:

Secretary General: Juma Volter Mwapachu (Tanzania).

Membership (5): Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda.

Official Language: English. Kiswahili is to be developed as a lingua franca.

Origin and development. The original East African Community (EAC) of Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles