Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS)

Established: March 5, 1992, by a meeting of foreign ministers of the ten Baltic states in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Purpose: To promote cooperation and coordination among all states bordering on the Baltic Sea or its main links to the open sea; to support new democratic institutions, economic development, humanitarian aid, energy and the environment, culture and education, and transportation and communication.

Headquarters: Stockholm, Sweden.

Principal Organs: Council of Ministers, Committee of Senior Officials, Commissioner of the CBSS on Democratic Development, Secretariat.

Web site:

Director of Secretariat: Gabriele Kötschau (Germany).

Membership (12): Denmark, Estonia, European Commission, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden.

Observers (7): Belarus, France, Italy, Netherlands, Slovakia, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States.

Special Participants (6): Baltic Sea Parliamentary Conference, Baltic Sea Seven Islands Cooperation Network, Baltic Sea States’ Sub- ...

locked icon

Sign in to access this content

Get a 30 day FREE TRIAL

  • Watch videos from a variety of sources bringing classroom topics to life
  • Read modern, diverse business cases
  • Explore hundreds of books and reference titles